Opinions on a linen dress

I saw this linen on Marcy Tilton’s website and had to have it.  I had in mind a longer, perhaps maxi, dress.  I love the fabric even more now that I have it, but it has a tad bit of body to it (linen, after all).  I haven’t washed it to see if it will soften, but will do so.

IMG_2782[1]
Copeland Digital print linen from Marcy Tilton.
But what to make?  Nothing with gathers, something sleek.  Not sure I want a full length maxi anymore, unless the dress is more a-line than full.

Here are options from my current pattern stash.  Thoughts?  Suggestions from patterns I do not know?  Thanks everyone!

 

IMG_2785[1]
Vogue 8993, View B?
img_27832.jpg
Vogue 8997; view c is maxi, view b is knee-length.

 

img_27861.jpg
Vogue 2300

 

 

8 thoughts on “Opinions on a linen dress

  1. They are all lovely but I’d go for the V8993 for this fabric. I am now going hunting for the Tomatsu pattern in my size – must have it!

  2. I guess the question is whether you want to go sweet – like a girls tea – or something more sleek with maybe an Asian feel to it (given the blue and white). If you are thinking the first – 8997 above is a real winner. If you are thinking the second, consider the following: StyleArc Louisa dress found on either their website or as a PDF on Etsy, or Lady Marlowe Studios (also on Etsy) Vintage Simplicity 2302 – from the 1930s as a halter dress with bias cut on the skirt.

    BTW, love to read your blog. It makes me feel less alone in my sewing room to see other people who love to sew.

    1. Definitely something more sleek and sophisticated. I like the Simplicity 2302 quite a bit. I’ve gone through my entire vintage collection and have nothing like it… Need something somewhat work appropriate (in Florida).

  3. If you liked the vintage halter, but thought not quite work appropriate – consider current Vogue V8808. Has similar lines, a mock turtleneck (which you could convert to a mandarin collar if you liked), and a halter back. It’s definitely sleek looking, and could be done either long or short with your linen.

Leave a Reply

