Quick Tee: McCall 7127

A short post, from my mobile, as I’m packing for an extended trip.  Still, I found time to make a t-shirt with an interesting back. (Terrible shadows in the photos!)

Front
Back

This tee is very easy-it took no time at all.  I used my straight stitch machine and serged seams.  Instead of narrow hems, I serged the edges without trimming, folded over the hem allowances and top stitched 3/8 inch from ghe edge (7/8 on the sleeves).

My only quibble with the construction is that you hem the bottom of the front and back before sewing the side seams.  I don’t really care for the way that finishes the side seams.  I had to tack them down by hand. 

line art

I sewed a 12, view B, no alterations. This is closer fitting than I expected even in the arms (I have skinny arms).  It has no shaping at the bust or waist, so consider a muslin first.   It’s cute, but a little fussy.  Those back panels don’t like to stay just so.  

The fabric is an organic cotton jersey from Marcy Tilton purchased last summer.  Mid-weight and no rolling, it’s long sold out.  I love that she is thorough in her descriptions of the knits, including the rolling.

I am not sure how often I will wear this, and I won’t make this version again, but I am considering the version with the keyhole back.

No time for live shots, and you can see my final pressing still needs to be done.

 

2 thoughts on “Quick Tee: McCall 7127

  1. I like it. I made a top like that for my daughter last fall using Patternmaker software. Didn’t know there was an actual pattern for this style. I used a lightweight ponte knit. It had cap sleeves and criss crossed in the front. It was difficult for me (in my head) to top stitch and finish the hems before I sewed the side seams. I serged the side seams then sewed a seam on the inside edge of the serger thread. Never thought about putting the criss cross in the back. Back interest is a good thing.

    1. Thanks! I think the pattern is from last summer. I intended to make this to go with a white (printed with a black cafe scene) full skirt for a 50s kind of feel. Just didn’t get to it!

Leave a Reply

