A Tale of Two Skirts (Vogue 8835 & McCalls 7022)

I’m trying to get back in the swing of things – so how about a couple of skirts to warm up those rusty skills?  Short story: I’m pleased with my sewing quality, but displeased with my fitting work.

Vogue 8835:  This is a very basic (now out-of-print) work skirt. I made view A, with modifications.  The first time I made it back in 2012 or so, I threw it away.  I thought it was the cotton poplin I was using, but I really do think something is up with the way it was drafted.

I used a very fine grey wool suiting from Emma One Sock, in “banker’s grey” (sold out). I really love the fabric, but it is “superfine 120” and needs a lining.  This skirt is unlined.  I decided to flat-line it with a silk/cotton batiste from Gorgeous Fabrics.  I didn’t have the right buttons on hand, so I left them off.  I added a 2-inch hem, and a self facing to the flap that opens.  In the original, these are all done with narrow 5/8 inch hems.

I also made this in a size 14, based on my measurements.  I should have made a muslin to perfect the fit, because this doesn’t fit well – too much pulling across the hips/thighs, but too large in the waist. Something to keep in mind for the next project.

I’m not sure I’ll keep this.  I won’t have a need to wear it until Fall, so if my waist/hips change more, we’ll see.  Otherwise, off to the charity bin.  I won’t make this skirt again.

McCall’s 7022:  I made version C before, in a denim.  I love it and wear it all the time. I’ve always wanted a circle skirt, and I like having a yoked skirt.  I paired view F with a beautiful and drapey fine black linen from Gorgeous Fabrics.  It’s the last of the linen from when I made this color-blocked dress a few years back.  I have no more, and it’s sold out!

Since I’m still wearing the denim version, I made the same size (12). I made no changes to the pattern.  I should have though – the yoke is cut on the bias, and it grew on me, even though I was careful and interfaced pretty quickly. I didn’t have this problem with the denim, so I might have cut it on the cross-grain – and should have here.

I love it – though I’m not convinced it’s my style.  It’s super-comfortable and breezy.  But fair warning:  the finished hem width is huge!  It took a very long time of careful machine stitching to make a narrow hem.  Don’t forget to let it hang for a day or two to let the bias set. I measured multiple ways to make sure I got the hem even, but it’s tough to do without help.

 

Last, what about my time-hop choices?

I haven’t decided yet.  My mother-in-law suggesting finishing the red Patou.  I tried it on and it is very tight.  I’ll have to do some major work to get it to fit my body after all this time.  But we’ll see.  The Balmain got the most votes from friends and family, but I’m not sure on fabric choice.  Assuming a muslin shows it works for my body, I’m going to make the Finnetti in either a pique or stretch cotton sateen (I’ve got six fabrics in contention).  My 30th (!) high school reunion is three weeks after the anniversary party, and it will work well for that.  Whether I end up with one or two  dresses by the beginning of August remains to be seen!

Leave a Reply

