Pjs for the little guy (McCalls 6236)

IMG_1134A last minute Christmas gift for my little guy.  I was in Joann’s getting stuff for the tree skirt, when I spied the print (ok, I looked for it).  Paw Patrol is his favorite TV show, so I knew he’d love it.  He’s been living in them since.  I took the pictures Christmas morning, after he slept in them; please excuse the wrinkles

Pattern Description:  From pattern envelop: Robe has tie belt and patch pockets; top with long or short sleeves has partial front button closure and front pleat; pull on pants or shorts have either drawstring or elasticized waistline;  pants have optional elastic at ankles.  I made the long sleeve top with pants (elastic waist, open legs).

M6236, Boys'/Men's Robe With Tie Belt, Top, Pull-On Pants or ShortsSizing: Boys 3-4, 5-6, 7-8.  I made size 3-4.  My son is 43 inches tall, 22.5 inch waist, which matches the pattern description. He wears a 4 in Old Navy.  I knew these would be too big – the pants would not stay up and I had to make an emergency 2-inch tuck so that he could wear them right away. I shortened the pants two inches from the start.

Fabric Used: A novelty cotton – licensed character print from JoAnn’s Fabric.  Not high quality – the print was a little off grain. And no, it does not meet flammability standards for children’s sleepwear. For the interfacing, I used Pro-woven light crisp from Fashion Sewing Supply.  I thought it would be too crisp, but it turned out just right.

Tips Used during Construction: A Tutorial on Topstitching, from Ann Steeves.  What I learned from her post was to try different techniques to get a straight even line.  She found an overlock foot gave her the most control on her project. Here, the topstitching is 1.25 inches from the edge, so I used electrical tape on the machine/needleplate to give a raised edge.  This, along with going slow, gave me the control I needed. I also used the instructions at Colleterie for the felled seams. Claire Schaeffer’s Fabric Sewing Guide.

Yellow electrical tape is serving as a guide for the top-stitching.  I marked the pivot point.
Yellow electrical tape is serving as a guide for the top-stitching. I marked the pivot point.

Did it look like the photo or drawing when you got through? Yes

IMG_1136How were the instructions? Good.  I had no real problems, though I deviated here and there (see below).

Construction Notes: I used flat-felled seams for all seam finishes.  Where I could, I used the felling foot.  Otherwise, I carefully measured, trimmed, etc.  I used the 6mm felling foot, and it took me a minute or two to figure out how much to trim (duh, 6mm, or 1/4 inch).  I also did the shirt tail hem using the directions from Claire Schaeffer’s Fabric Sewing Guide for a narrow machine hem.  It looked much nicer/professional than what the pattern suggested. Finally, the drawings showed the top of the casing for the pants as edge-stitched, but don’t ask you to do this.  I did it.

Likes/Dislikes: like how cute they are, but don’t like how big they are.

From the back.  Yes, it's still dark Christmas morning.
From the back. Yes, it’s still dark Christmas morning.

Would you do it again? Would you recommend it? yes, but I have other boy’s pj styles to try first.

Things I learned: I’m slowly getting the hang of the felling foot!  And trust my instincts on the size.  Since this was a surprise, I couldn’t fit him directly – but I used a pair of pjs that fit him well as a guide.  These are huge!  But he loves them. Oh, and I didn’t try to match the pattern, only made sure it was even horizontally. I’ve got to work on that.

One thought on “Pjs for the little guy (McCalls 6236)

Leave a Reply

