Ambitious or delusional… what I’m working on.

I’m still working on the Rucci dress.

Reinforcing the reverse corners on the Rucci dress.
Reinforcing the reverse corners on the Rucci dress.

I got side tracked when I decided to make something for Thanksgiving.  But I’ve worn that skirt several times, so I’m glad I made it.

When I was putting up Christmas decorations, I decided to make new Christmas stockings and a new tree skirt.  We’ve always done a blue Christmas, but had cheap dime-store stockings.  They don’t work in the new house.  At.all. (Okay, they never worked, and I’ve been planning on doing this for years, but I’m only just now doing it). Oh, and I decided on plaid (matching) with hand-beaded snowflakes on the white trim – twenty four snowflakes. I’ve never beaded before. I’ve finished twelve.

My first snowflake, one of two designs.
My first snowflake, one of two designs.

Earlier this week, we decided to do New Year’s – sparkly and festive.  So, I’m going to finish the Patou dress.  I put it on the dress form today and am making a (long) list of fixes to finish it. The photo doesn’t do the design or fabric justice.

Where I left off on the Patou.  The shoulders are pinned together, the belt is missing and I have a whole lot of fixing to do.
Where I left off on the Patou. The shoulders are pinned together, the belt is missing and I have a whole lot of fixing to do.

All along, I knew I was going to make the Little Hip Skirt for my niece’s gift.

The fabric for the Little Hip Skirt.  I'm making the double circle, with belt, not button front as pictured.
The fabric for the Little Hip Skirt. I’m making the double circle, with belt, not button front as pictured.

What will I finish?  My niece’s skirt is almost done, and I hope to mail it tomorrow.  I’ll get the stockings done, but maybe not the tree skirt.  I only need to do three more snowflakes to sew the stockings together.  I think I can get the Patou done, but it all depends on fitting issues.  I started it more than a year ago, and did two muslins for the fitting. My body has gone through ups/downs since, but I think I’m in better shape than I was then. I will try it on in a day or two.  And then the Rucci. I’d like to wear the Rucci to New Orleans in January.

One thought on “Ambitious or delusional… what I’m working on.

Leave a Reply

