Thanksgiving Part II: McCall’s 6844

M6844, Misses'/Miss Petite Cardigans

I love this cardigan.  McCall’s styles it well here, belted with a sequined belt (not included) that really shows the potential of this pattern.  It’s a basic, to dress up or down.  I finally got around to making it, for the Thanksgiving outfit.  This has been reviewed many times on Pattern Review, so I’ll keep it short.

IMG_1027

I used a beautiful, nubby wool blend sweater knit that was still available at Gorgeous Fabrics as of this writing.  Its perhaps a bit too heavy/nubby/textured for this cardigan, but I like it.  It’s definitely too warm for Florida weather, but, I do need something to keep me warm in my over-air conditioned office.

After reading numerous reviews, and a quick pattern fit, I decided to make a few changes and leave other things the same.  Some reviews suggested that this pattern ran large, but the pattern-fit suggested otherwise. In fact, I have skinny arms and the arms are snug! I did make my usual adjustment for being long in the torso.

I changed the order of construction to suit my needs and simplify the process, pressing and finishing seams/edges as I went:

  1. Stabilized and stitched the shoulder seams (stabilized due to the weight of the knit).
  2. Stabilized and stitched the peplum pieces to the front and back pieces.
  3. Sewed the sleeves in flat (SO MUCH EASIER, and you can stretch gently for the ease).
  4. Sewed the side/arm seams.
  5. Hemmed the peplum and sleeves, by hand.  The texture of the fabric dictated this.  But it took forever (I blind catchstiched the peplum).
  6. Interfaced (protricot deluxe fusible from Fashion Sewing Supply) the shawl collar.
  7. Stitched the collar together, but did not baste the edges together as directed.
  8. Sewed the interfaced edge of the collar (under collar) to the cardigan (pressed seam to under collar).
  9. Turned under the collar edge 5/8″ and slip stitched the pressed edge to the seam from step 8, easing as necessary.  I did this to  have a finished edge instead of overcast edges. Personal preference.

This is sooo easy.  I think I could have done it in an evening (once cut) had I not opted for the hand-stitching. And looks pretty good too.  I will make another in a lighter weight.

As for the rest of the Thanksgiving outfit?  Two out of three ain’t bad.  I cut the t-shirt out, but I won’t finish it until later.  Whole outfit picture coming after the feast.  But here are front and back finished versions on my dress form:

IMG_1034 IMG_1036

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Part II: McCall’s 6844

  1. Your cardigan is so cute. Second one I have seen this week from this pattern. I initially didn’t care for the peplum, but I like yours. Maybe it is the belted peplum on the pattern that I don’t care for.

  2. Thank you! I usually avoid peplums like the plague – some seem to add width to my widest part. But this is more like a skirt and quite drapey, so it seems to work.

Leave a Reply

